What are the requirements to be eligible for the state exam?
* Be at least 18 years of age.
* Have high school education or equivalent.
* Individuals must schedule an appointment to be fingerprinted through the KY State Police.
* Complete a 96 hour state approved Salesperson License Course
(equivalent to 6 credit hours)
* Call the test center and schedule an appointment to take the state exam at least four days prior.
* Pass the state exam with a score of 75. The exam consists of 120 multiple choice questions. (80 questions on the National section and 40 on the Kentucky License Law section). In addition to the questions used to compute your score, the examination may include five questions that are being "pretested” for use in future versions of the examination. The student is not graded on pretest questions.
Residency is NOT a requirement.
If an attorney has passed the bar and has taken the equivalent of 6 credit hours in Property 1 and Contract Law 1, then the attorney may not need to take additional coursework to sit for the sales associate's exam.
Is a criminal background check required?
Yes. All persons taking the real estate exam shall submit to an FBI National Criminal History Check prior to testing. The cost is approximately $52. Additional services may cost more. Your record must show that there have been no felony convictions at any time or any misdemeanors within the last five years. Persons with any felony conviction or certain misdemeanors should not enroll in classes or take the examination until the Kentucky Real Estate Commission has determined their eligibility for a license.
Visit the Kentucky Real Estate Commission’s
FBI Report web page for additional information on the criminal records check requirements.
What is the cost of the state exam?
The cost of the exam is currently $100. The fee must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Payment will not be accepted at the test center.
What is the cost to retake the state exam?
Same as the original cost. To re-take the state exam, call the test center and make an appointment.
When and where is the State Exam given?
The Kentucky Real Estate Examinations are administered by appointment only Monday through Saturday at 9:00 AM and 1:30 PM at the following locations:
Johnson City, TN
Typically, no examinations are given on federal holidays, or federal holiday weekends. Visit www.promissor.com for the holiday schedule.
How do I register for the State Exam?
To register for the exam, call the test center at their toll free number, 1-800-274-5629, at least 4 business days prior to the date you would like to take the exam. Reservations may be made online by visiting the Promissor website at www.promissor.com and making your reservation at least 4 business days in advance.
How difficult is the state exam?
Although A-Pass-Weikel does not quote passing percentages, we can say that we are the largest real estate school in Kentucky and that we also have the highest passing average.
How long after taking the exam will I be notified of passing?
Official results are given within minutes of completing the examination.
What is the license renewal period?
Your license can be maintained for life provided it is properly renewed. This must be done by March 31st of every year.
Are there continuing education requirements?
Each active licensed agent must complete 6 clock hours of continuing education per year except that a sales associate does not have to complete continuing education the first calendar year of licensure.
What is the cost to renew my license?
As to present law, original and renewal licenses cost an amount not to exceed $30.00 per year. Each agent will also pay a recovery fund fee in an amount not to exceed $30.00 per year. Active agents must also carry errors and omissions insurance which is available through the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. The cost of the insurance through the KREC cannot exceed $200.00 per year.
Is there an active and inactive status?
Yes. Active means that the license has been placed with a principal broker. Inactive means that the license is properly registered with the state, not with a principal broker. Only active licensees can earn fees.
Are there jobs available?
Yes. Brokers are often looking for newly licensed individuals. You will typically work as an independent contractor. Full-time positions are readily available and part-time is common.